Meal Plan: 7/9-7/15/10

Posted by Lisa

Summer seems to be in full swing around here and with the 4th of July making Monday a holiday, I was thrown off all day on Tuesday and because of that, I completely forgot to pick up our CSA share.  It’s a terrible feeling to remember late on a Tuesday that I missed CSA pick-up.  I’ve only done that one other time in the years that we’ve been getting a share.  Luckily and unexpectedly, another set of friends gave us an IKEA bag that was nearly full of vegetables from their CSA when I happened to be at their place on harvest day.  (We are so blessed to have wonderful friends!)  They sent us home with enough salad turnips for 3-4 side dishes, 1 bunch of beets, 1/2 of a large cabbage, a small fennel, 2 shallots, 1 spring onion, fresh herbs (parsley and tarragon), one bunch of young parsnips, a bag of snow peas and snap peas (I think) and one large kohlrabi!  I supplemented this with some things I picked up at our local public market (formerly Saturday market, but it’s all weekend now):  one small purple cabbage, a bag of salad mix, celery, 1 cucumber and a bunch of radishes.  We had a few leftovers rolling around in the fridge from the previous week’s CSA share, so I feel awash in vegetables–in a good way, of course!

With all these vegetables and a full freezer, not only including beef and goat, but four of the six roosters we had processed a couple of weeks ago*, this week’s meal plan has lots of variety.

Also, this week we will be participating in an summer camp, so I need to pack lunches for the three girls and myself for four days in a row!  Two things I’m planning on making after cooking up a big pot of chickpeas are:  Smashed Chickpea Sandwiches and Chickpea, Feta and Cilantro Salad.

*You can read about our experience with getting these roosters processed here on my personal blog; don’t worry, it’s not graphic.

Leave a comment